top of page
Search
  • Alice White

Quite a week... again


On Monday we went grocery shopping, yet again, trying to get the pantries full for the holiday season when everything will be shut. No, we did NOT go to Walmart. I do not use Walmart for grocery shopping, except their online store for everything but perishables. That really helps a lot with ‘shopping stress’ and fatigue from actually having to walk around their store three times because they moved your favourite things, again.

No. We do our perishable grocery shop at Marvin’s. It is a lot quieter than Wally world and the prices are actually very competitive. They even do that thing where they take your bags out to the car for you… Compete with that, Walmart ;)

So, Tuesday arrived. I had an appointment to attend with the surgeon. Some of you might remember that I had abnormal blood work… three times in fact, with the same results. I had the scan two weeks ago to determine a problem, or not, with my Para-thyroids. This appointment was made to discuss those results.

Unlike most other appointments at this office, this one was on time.

The long and the short of it is… my para-thyroids appeared normal on the scan…

“Good news,” you say. Well, yes… indeed it is. I don’t have to have surgery, yet. BUT the blood results remain and so do the symptoms I am experiencing: Even more fatigue, more lack of concentration, more muscle/bone aches and short-term memory loss than is normal for me. With the M.E., AKA Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, I already have those things, but at the moment they are more so. The fatigue in particular feels different to M.E. fatigue, otherwise I might have suspected a relapse… Thankfully, it isn’t that, but it is something I am not sure how to deal with yet.

I am to go back in six months for MORE blood work, to see if anything changes…

I have not been able to concentrate on my writing, but for another six months I will have to try. I am not sure if they expect the problem to vanish (that would be nice) or to get ‘bad enough to do something about’. I suppose we shall have to wait and see… for six months… lovely.

I have a Great Niece and it is her first Christmas. We wanted to get her something nice, so after the appointment we went shopping for baby clothes and toys, to be posted the next day.

When we got home, I managed to write a small story for her, involving the two stuffed animals we managed to find. Yay for me! I wrote something! Don’t get too excited though, it was extremely short but it is a start! I printed it off, including front and back covers onto photo paper, stapled it into book form and placed it in the bottom of the – now packed and wrapped – box.

Yesterday we posted the box. I was told that it would not get there for Christmas, but I had already envisaged that outcome. At least she WILL get them and can have another present day…

Today, I was planning on writing something for my new book. Nothing has transpired, so far, so I opted to write a blog instead. Maybe I will get inspired after visiting with the Writer’s workshop tonight… We shall see. I have nothing to take to the workshop tonight. I haven’t written anything, save the short book for my Great Niece and that was just for her.

So, it has been another one of ‘those’ weeks. We deal…

I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday season/Christmas and a Happy New Year and I shall be back next year!

Meanwhile, in case you feel like buying my books, here are a couple of ‘shameless promotion’ links where you can do so.

Amazon (digital and paperback) books by Alice White

Barnes and Noble (paperback only) books by Alice White

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Interesting Day...

Interesting day. I went to my follow-up mammogram appointment this morning. They saw something on last week’s that they needed a further look at, so in I went to have boobs squeezed yet again. And the

BUYER BEWARE!

We needed to replace the sliding glass doors leading onto our porch. The contractors we normally use have a big job on at the moment, plus one is sick, so we decided we would buy, get delivered, and g

bottom of page