top of page
Search
  • Alice White

Voting Rights and Post Office Blips


It was cold here yesterday, (I think it got down to minus 2 again overnight in the city), as another arctic stream came across the area…but I no complain. It is winter, after all!

We went out, a half hour journey in teen temperatures, but Georgie Girl’s heater is fantastic. I visited the county court house and put in my register to vote! I should hear back in a few weeks…apparently, it takes a long time to process? Still, at least it’s in and I should be able to vote next time there is something to vote about :D It was only 3.30pm so I went to the main post office too. It still being open.

I got in the queue and waited my turn, which arrived 20 minutes later. As I got to the desk, she said;

“The girl that does passports is on break and should be back shortly. Got down to the passport counter at the bottom.”

Okay… I never got a passport here before, having just got citizenship. How was I supposed to know passports have their own counter and that I did not need to join the main queue? So, I trudge down to the bottom counter. And I wait. For another ten minutes.

The other assistant was finishing off a young man’s passport application, I caught her eye.

“Are you waiting for information on passports?” Her tone was somewhat impatient.

I hold up my, already filled out, form and the photographs I obtained from Walgreens. “No, I need to apply for my first American passport. I already filled everything out and have photos.”

“She went home at 3…they close at 3.” She went back to processing and mailing the young man’s passport. I stared for a moment, not quite believing she told me this whilst processing someone else’s passport.

“The other lady told me to wait here, that the passport person was on a break and would be back…”

She repeated her statement, turning to the ‘other lady’ and mock-scolded her, both smirking. I made my way out, after being in there more than half an hour.

“Sorry,” the ‘other lady’ condescended, still smirking.

“Really…” I muttered, as I reached the door, shaking my head and resolving to return the next day (today) BEFORE 3…How was I supposed to know the passport counter closed at 3! Especially since I witnessed another person having their passport processed, as I waited. I assumed, logically, that it would be open the same times as the rest of the place.

So today I will return. Hopefully, I shall not have my time wasted again by rude counter assistants that clearly found it funny…

The moral of this tale is; NEVER assume that the post office runs on logic and don’t count on people understanding that it is not just THEIR time that is precious. Also, never assume that people who are supposed to be polite and helpful, will be so.

Other than the afore mentioned blip in human nature, life is good. :)

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Interesting Day...

Interesting day. I went to my follow-up mammogram appointment this morning. They saw something on last week’s that they needed a further look at, so in I went to have boobs squeezed yet again. And the

BUYER BEWARE!

We needed to replace the sliding glass doors leading onto our porch. The contractors we normally use have a big job on at the moment, plus one is sick, so we decided we would buy, get delivered, and g

bottom of page